Photo courtesy of NAFSA

2008 Cassandra Pyle Award to Ward Chamberlin


NAFSA Presents Prestigious Awards at 2008 Annual Conference

WASHINGTON, June 17, 2008 – NAFSA: Association of International Educators recently presented several prestigious awards at its 60th Annual Conference in Washington, DC. This year’s award recipients include: Ward B. Chamberlin, for the Cassandra Pyle Award; Ellen E. Mashiko for the Marita Houlihan Award; Peter Briggs for the Homer Higbee Award; and Dixon Johnson, David Larsen, and Jerry Wilcox for NAFSA Life Membership Awards

Cassandra Pyle Award

The Cassandra Pyle Award for Leadership and Collaboration in International Educational Exchange, awarded this year to Ward B. Chamberlin, honors the contributions of a senior international educator to global international exchange. During World War II, Chamberlin served with the American Field Service in Africa, Italy and India. He was among the members of AFS that decided to transform the organization of ambulance drivers into what today is AFS Intercultural Programs, an organization that seeks to promote peace and understanding through international youth education exchanges. For more than 60 years, as a former chairperson and currently a life trustee of the board, Chamberlin has been dedicated to AFS’ mission. Chamberlin was also a founding pioneer of public broadcasting, playing a key role in the establishment of both the Public Broadcasting Service (PBS) and National Public Radio (NPR).


Link to NAFSA website

Ward B. Chamberlin, Jr.